The Jackson County Board of Commissioners are the general administrative body for county government. They are the county government taxing, budgeting, appropriating, and purchasing authority. Their duties include hearing and ruling on annexations, approving drainage improvements through the petition ditch process, establishing sewer districts and making improvements, and providing for solid waste disposal.

They also appoint department heads and members of a variety of boards. In addition to these explicit duties, commissioners are required to be active in promoting the growth and welfare of many countywide agencies and organizations.

All formal and official actions must be taken by the Board of County Commissioners, acting as a body, by a majority or unanimous vote. The Jackson County Commissioners meet on Wednesday morning at 8:30 am.



  • Paul Haller, President
  • Jon Hensler, Vice President
  • Donnie Willis, Commissioner 


Jackson County Courthouse Annex
25 East South Street  (Job and Family Services Building)
PO Box 606
Jackson, OH 45640-0606

phone (740) 286-3301
email: [email protected]

Hours: Monday thru Friday, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm


  • For meeting minutes and resolutions, click HERE
  • For information on the CHIP Health and Safety grants, click HERE